Baby Maeve at Seven Weeks: Growth, Gaze

by
Maeve asleep on her dad's chest, this morning.

Maeve asleep on her dad’s chest, this morning.

Maeve turned 7 weeks old today – Tuesday September 16th. This is my weekly dadblog entry – including plenty of photos, but not all that much news.

Maeve about to express herself

Maeve about to express herself

Again she’s been spending most of her time asleep and breastfeeding. She poops and pees a lot, mostly in her diaper, sometimes in the adult toilet. My wife Carrie reports that Maeve has smiled twice briefly so far… though I didn’t see it (or photograph it) yet! Maybe I need to scowl less around my daughter, no?

She’s been kind of up and down last week. A few days she slept and hung out fairly quietly all day… then a few days she barely slept at all, with intermittent bursts of wailing inconsolably… generally in the early evening. 

Maeve and Carrie on the right - drumming at music class. Maeve did really well most of the class, but I think was a bit overwhelmed by the activity of the drumming at the end.

Maeve and Carrie on the right – drumming at music class. Maeve did really well most of the class, but I think was a bit overwhelmed by the activity of the drumming at the end.

We did a bunch of good things this week. Carrie attended a La Leche League meeting and brought lots of good parenting tips home from that. We three attended an introductory music class for kids (at Key Element Learning – excellent), and a barbecue hosted by our friend Roberta and her nearly-year-old Pthala. Both Carrie and I have been sketching Maeve some, nothing so great as I would post here now. We continue to do fairly long walks.

A few things I’ve been noticing over the last week:

Growth: Though it’s hard to notice it, seeing her every day all the time, she’s been growing. Her newborn-sized (cloth) diapers barely fit her… so we’re stepping up to the next size. She doesn’t feel heavy or huge, but many many people think she’s bigger and older…

Maeve Carrie 13Sep

Maeve returning her mother’s gaze

Gaze: I’ve been mentioning it in the last few posts, but her gaze continues to be more focused. Now, she really looks into my eyes. Pays attention. Talks (in her not-so-intelligble voice) when we talk with her.

This morning after Maeve had fallen back asleep, she started to wake up

A dark confusing photo that only a dad could love. This morning after Maeve had fallen back asleep, she started to wake up, so I lay down next to her for a bit. When she seemed to be back asleep, I moved my arm away from her a bit. She. still sleeping, stuck her arm out toward me, just touching me with one finger. I paused, not pulling away any more for a bit, and took this photo.

Sleep: Carrie heard at the La Leche League meeting about comforting her when she starts to awaken. When we hear her start to wake up, we touch her gently, reassure her that we’re here… sometimes lay down beside her, where she can feel our body next to hers – then she’ll go from half-awake back to sleep, often sleeping longer. It’s funny though, I will lie down next to her thinking that she’s about to get up (sometimes even when her eyes are open and she’s stretching her arms like an adult awakening), then she’ll fall back deeply to sleep. I’ll be lying by her, our skin touching, not wanting to move away (because I think that will cause her to wake up), and I end up lying and looking at her marveling at how precious she is.

Our friend Sandra demonstrates the face-down carry that Maeve seems to like a lot these days.

Our friend Sandra demonstrates the face-down carry that Maeve seems to like a lot these days.

Carry: She’s still very much into the face-down carry that I wrote about here. It’s to the point where it seems like she doesn’t like anything else. So I end up walking around with her the crook of my arm. I think my arms are getting stronger! I hand her back and forth between arms as each gets tired. She’ll fall asleep after a while – face down, limbs hanging loosely, frequently drooling, too. Unfortunately, it’s difficult to transition to her sleeping face-up by herself. She realizes that she’s moving around, and wakes up… and wants to be walked around some more.

Maeve in her blue dress

Maeve in her blue dress

Another Maeve close-up

Another Maeve close-up

For previous week (week 6) go here. For next week (week 8) go here. More Maeve photos on Instagram (username joelinton63) and Maeve sketches at my art blog Handmade Ransom Notes.

One more Maeve close-up

One more Maeve close-up – this time she was pretty quiet and looking into my camera.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Baby Maeve at Seven Weeks: Growth, Gaze”

  1. Bob Says:

    Thanks for sharing Joe and Carrie. So amazing to see the look of your faces…the pure love and serenity…there’s nothing like being a new parent now that all the stress of birth is over. Time is flying by…Maeve is developing her little personality. When she starts smiling regularly and then laughing, it’ll seem like a drug you can’t get enough of. til your next installment of the story of Maeve. This journey seems like a perfect topic for an illustrator to do a children’s book about.

  2. Susan Palmer Says:

    I can’t tell you & Carrie how much I enjoy the pictures, videos,
    skype time & reading your blogs. I wish I was right there, but
    it really helps to hear about Maeve & see her pictures. I have
    copied some of the blogs, but would like copies of all of them.
    I know you will keep them & I have saved them on the computer.
    It is really wonderful how you are both involved & enjoying
    every moment. As everyone says it does go quickly. She really
    is beautiful & precious.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

