Paige Gastil’s Gramma Reflections

by

From left to right: Marge Linton and her grandchildren Daniel Linton and Paige Gastil

Here’s my niece Paige Gastil’s moving remembrance of her grandmother – my mother – Margaret Gerhardt Linton.

Paige is the youngest of my sister kids. She currently attends Laguna Hills High School.

My Gramma has always been a huge part of my life.

I remember as kids we would go over to her house every Friday night and watch movies and she’d make Mac and cheese and Fettuccine Alfredo,caesar salad and fish sticks. Gramma always loved us unconditionally. She adored all of her grandkids. She raved about each and every one of them and I know that she made a big impact on all of our lives.

I knew that I could always call her and she’d be delighted to talk to me. In my birthday card this May she wrote “if you ever need any kind of help, call me and tell me and I’ll be there for you.” I know she truly meant this and I’ll miss just being able to pick up the phone and hear her sweet voice.

She also had a great sense of humor. We would watch T.V. shows together and she would make funny remarks about the actors she didn’t like. She always had sarcastic and funny things to add to the conversation.

I also remember when I was sick and I couldn’t go to school, my mom would call up Gramma and she would come spend the day with me. We’d always have so much fun together. She would read me books, bring me my favorite food, and we’d eat popsicles. Sometimes I would even fake sick because I knew I’d be able to spend a whole day with my Gramma.

As the years passed my Gramma has always been supportive of me and what I’ve done. She loved coming to my plays. She was always a great person to be around. She was a great role model, friend, grandmother, mother and person.

The saying says “you don’t know what you got till it’s gone” and this phrase has really hit me hard this past week. Now that she’s gone I really realize how much I miss her and how much I adored her. I’m happy and proud to call her my grandmother. And although she’s not with me now, I know that her funny remarks, her laugh and her smile will remain with me forever.

And although I miss her dearly and I want her back, I know she’s in a better place and I can’t wait to see her again.

For other pieces about mom, from Mom’s service, see alsoPaige’s brother Garrett Gastil’s, Paige’s mom Liz Gastil’s, Matt Linton’s and the bio/obit piece by Laura Archer Linton that we all contributed to. Mark Fletcher and I only wrote notes… so I am planning to post those in some shape shortly, too.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

