An Orgy of Bondage: 1948 Wonder Woman Comics

by

Wonder Woman will tie up Giganta and then -- ?? From Wonder Woman No. 28, 1948, written by Charles Moulton, drawn by Harry G. Peter

I’ve been re-reading the comics of my misspent youth… and this week I came across the Wonder Woman story entitled Villainy, Incorporated. It was originally from Wonder Woman No. 28 in March/April 1948; the copy I have is a reprint in Adventure Comics No. 416, from 1972. Holy Dan Savage! It’s chock-full of bondage scenes… not quite overtly sexual, but damn close. 

I remember hearing somewhere about Wonder Woman having some bondage themes… and a cursory internet search turns up dozens of sources about this. Apparently Wonder Woman writer/creator William Moulton Marston, who goes by the pen name “Charles Moulton”, was polyamorous and into strong dominant women and bondage play.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I rarely use a slide show on my blogs, but there are just so many images on this theme that I figure it’s ok. All thirty-one of these are all from a single three-part 35-page story arc, written by Charles Moulton and drawn by Harry G. Peter.

From Wonder Woman’s magic lasso, to magical “venus girdles”, to chains, to ropes, lots of women are getting tied up over and over. The bad girls and good girls area each in turn taken prisoner and stripped down to their prisoner black-and-white striped undergarments. There are frequent references to “mistress,” “slave,” “captive,” and even “sub” (referring to a submarine, of course.)

It can be read innocently, as I think I did at age 11-12 when I first read this, but once I got the idea of bondage in my head, nearly every other panel was suggestive.

The story concludes with this pithy piece of wisdom:

The only real happiness for anybody is to be found in obedience to loving authority.

‘Nuff said!

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

