Maeve’s Third Week: First Bath, Mastitis, and More

by
Maeve gets fussy this week (though she's just doing her job, letting us know when something needs attention)

Maeve gets fussy this week (though she’s just doing her job, letting us know when something needs attention)

Maeve Margaret Linton Lincourt turns three weeks old on Tuesday August 20th. I am going to make this a fairly short blog entry, because, though being her father has been great, there’s not really tons of new stuff to report, and I am a little bit tired. Yawn.

I won’t let the lack of hard news prevent me from posting…

Maeve showing off her mad napping skills earlier today. I also include this photo to show that we do occasionally dress her up in clothes - mostly it's been pretty warm and she's staying home, so it's just diapers and diaper covers, with a thin blanket accessory

Maeve showing off her mad napping skills earlier today. I also include this photo to show that we do occasionally dress her up in clothes – mostly it’s been pretty warm and she’s staying home, so it’s just diapers and diaper covers, with a thin blanket accessory

plenty of photos…

Maeve ready for her close-up

Maeve ready for her close-up

from this week!

A whole lot of really cute sleeping going on.

A whole lot of really cute sleeping going on.

This week was pretty similar to last week. Lots of sleeping and breastfeeding, punctuated by plenty of elimination, hiccups, Skype-ing with family on the west coast, and a fair amount of crying.

It’s hard to tell exactly what’s new. I think that she’s tracking things – ie: when my wife Carrie is holding her and I walk past, Maeve looks over toward me, at least sometimes. Sometimes I think that she’s looking into my eyes, though, then I look closer and she’s kind of staring into the blank wall next to me…

In the middle of the week, my wife Carrie was taking a couple of long naps for two days. This wasn’t in and of itself abnormal. We’ve been napping on and off, because baby Maeve is up at night fairly often… but it seemed like Carrie’s energy was lower than usual. (Usually I have to restrain Carrie from leaping over tall buildings in a single bound.) I thought that it might be post-partum depression. Then Carrie asked me to get the thermometer. She had a temperature of ~100.5 degrees. She figured she had the flu. We texted our midwife, and she asked if either of Carrie’s breasts were tender or reddish. We checked and her breast was, so it turned out she had what’s called Mastitis. The Nursing Mother’s Companion calls mastitis “infection of the breast” and says that up to 30% of nursing mothers get it. The good news is that its not really a flu, but sort of normal skin flora taking over somewhere it generally doesn’t go. The treatment is bed rest (and antibiotics if needed) and resting worked for us. And two other good aspects: it’s fine to continue nursing – and I could still kiss Carrie on the lips, which wouldn’t have been good with a respiratory flu. Carrie rested for about three days straight, and it cleared up.

During the mastitis, I think that baby Maeve got a bit fussier. She was frequently somewhat agitated, and difficult to get calmed down (though this happens now and then and then and now for the past few weeks), even sometimes during breastfeeding – struggling to feed, but flailing limbs, too. Usually nursing calms her down. I speculate that she may have been picking up on her mother’s discomfort from not feeling well, and that was getting her unsettled.

I felt guilty for taking this photo just as Maeve launched into some serious full-on crying... when I probably should have been comforting her.

I felt guilty for taking this photo just as Maeve launched into some serious full-on crying… when I probably should have been comforting her.

I’ve been on Maeve quieting duty when Carrie needs a break. Sometimes I hold Maeve in my arms and walk around and that calms her. Sometimes inside a Moby sling carrier thing (which puts her to sleep quickly – but then she wakes back up when I take her out.) Sometimes I put my hands under her arms and kind of bounce her up and down, gradually slowing to just rocking her. This actually gets her to relax, but I think some of it is from holding her firmly, so when I lay her down, she wakes back up.

We’ve been trying to tick off a few projects. I spent a couple days on drawing Maeve’s birth announcement, then Carrie and I photocopied, addressed, folded, and mailed them out. Here’s what it looked like while I was working on it:

Preview of Maeve's birth announcement I drew, then we printed and mailed out

Preview of Maeve’s birth announcement I drew, then we printed and mailed out

If you’re someone whom I have a mailing address for, your copy is probably wending its way directly to you via snail mail. (And if you want one in the mail and I don’t have your address, email me and let me know your mailing address, and I’ll send it to you.) (update 8/20: posted Maeve’s birth announcement at my art blog here.)

Another first this week was Maeve’s first bath.

Maeve's first bath - taking it pretty nonchallantly

Maeve’s first bath – taking it pretty nonchallantly

First bath was in the kitchen sink, of course. With a free bath seat that we were given at a recent stoop sale.

First bath was in the kitchen sink, of course. With a free bath seat that we were given at a recent stoop sale.

and her second bath, too!

The photo is a bit dark, but shows how alert she was during her second bath.

The photo is a bit dark, but shows how alert she was during her second bath.

We had fun visits, including Uncle Rob:

Maeve was sleeping on Carrie's brother Rob's chest. It had a soothing effect on both of them.

Maeve was sleeping on Carrie’s brother Rob’s chest. It had a soothing effect on both of them.

and my friends Oscar and Jocelyn, from Los Angeles, who bicycle toured here from Toronto:

All the way from Los Angeles, Oscar came to greet baby Maeve and her parents.

All the way from Los Angeles, Oscar came to greet baby Maeve and her parents.

Maeve’s been making the social circles visiting a few other youngsters in the neighborhood. Here she is with Becky and Baby Mazie:

Visiting with our great neighbors two doors down: Carrie, Maeve, Becky and Mazie. We get a preview of what's coming in a few months for Maeve. Mazie looks so big! Was fun to see Mazie's smile.

Visiting with our great neighbors two doors down: Carrie, Maeve, Becky and Mazie. We get a preview of what’s coming in a few months for Maeve. Mazie looks so big! Was fun to see Mazie’s smile.

and here’s a shot from her visit earlier today with Roberta and Pthala:

Maeve with Carrie's friend Roberta.

Maeve with Carrie’s friend Roberta.

This week, I returned to work, at least for a while, so I was missing Maeve and Carrie earlier today.

Usually I've been closing with a photo of my wife and my daughter, but today I am closing with a picture Carrie took of me with Maeve.

Usually I’ve been closing with a photo of my wife and my daughter, but today I am closing with a picture Carrie took of me with Maeve.

Stayed tuned for more scintillating new on the Maeve channel coming soon!

(for earlier Maeve stuff: see week 2, week 1, and two versions of the birth story: Carrie’s and Joe’s)

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Maeve’s Third Week: First Bath, Mastitis, and More”

  1. Sandra Lawrence Says:

    We’d love to get one of your amazing birth announcements 🙂 I love readying your post and seeing all of the pictures!! Thanks, Sandy Lawrence

Leave a Reply

