Newborn Maeve at Five Weeks: One-Month Check-Up, My Birthday and More

by
Happy parents Carrie and Joe with our 5-week-old daughter Maeve

Happy parents Carrie and Joe with our 5-week-old daughter Maeve. We don’t have a lot of photos of the three of us together… this one was taken by Carrie’s brother Bob earlier today.

It’s been a relatively uneventful week for baby Maeve, born July 30th 2013, about to turn five weeks old as I post this. Yesterday, my wife Carrie posted some of her thoughts at one month. I am going to post briefly with plenty of photos and a few thoughts. I’ve been posting weekly updates on my our daughter’s progress, find earlier ones here.

Maeve sure looks cute when she's sleeping and moving around

Maeve sure looks cute when she’s sleeping and moving around

Maeve is still concerning herself mostly with breastfeeding and sleeping. We’re continuing to do some elimination communication where she pees and poops in the toilet… it’s great, but still hovering around 10-15% of the time… mostly she uses her diaper. Though, yesterday, we started trying a thing where we put down a picnic cloth and let her lie and play naked on the floor. It worked ok – she seemed fine with it – but let’s just say that we were glad that we had put down the waterproof cover.

She seems like she’s making a little more eye contact… though not necessarily most of the time yet. She still cries inconsolably some times. She gets gas, and seems to like to be held face-down when she’s gassy.

Last week, on Friday August 30th, we took Maeve in to the pediatrician for her one-month check-up. She’s doing exceedingly well. At birth, she weighed 8lbs 4oz, now she’s up to 10lbs 13oz. She was 21 1/4″ at birth, now she’s 22 3/4″. They tell us that all this is in the eighty-to-ninety-something percentile, but I think everyone thinks that their kid is in the high percentile. With a father who’s 6’3″ (the shortest of three brothers) and a mother who’s 5’9 1/2″ Maeve is most likely going to grow up to be wonderfully tall.

I turned 50 this week. I was born the exact same day, August 28th, 1963, Martin Luther King Jr gave his famous “I have a dream” speech, and I share my birth date with one of the great comic book artists of all time, Jack Kirby. It was a great birthday – and Carrie is going to post some stuff from it… so I won’t go into toooo much detail.

A bunch of great friends from Los Angeles came to visit: Yuki and Federico, Damien and his eleven-month old daughter Mary Leigh, and Mizue and her daughters Saya and Amina. We walked over to nearby Hamilton Park, where Saya and Amina took advantage of the water park.

post splash pad

Damien and Carrie in back. Saya, Joe, Maeve, and Amina in front. Resting on the grass at Hamilton Park. Photo by Mizue

Afterwards we came home and had peach cobbler birthday cake.

The group on the stoop. Back row: Yuki, Amina, Mizue. Front row: Carrie, Maeve and Joe. Photo by Saya.

The group on the stoop. Back row: Yuki, Amina, Mizue. Front row: Carrie, Maeve and Joe. Photo by Saya.

Amina read a Dr. Seuss book to Maeve.

Amina reads One Fish Two Fish to Maeve and Carrie

Amina reads One Fish Two Fish to Maeve and Carrie. Photo by Mizue.

All that took place the day before. On my birthday itself, Carrie and I (and Maeve, of course) had a good time together. Among other presents, she gave me a great 2-volume book that we found at a stoop sale: Great Drawings of All Time: The Twentieth Century – very cool with zillions of color plates. Carrie contacted a lot of my family and friends and had them write short appreciations, which I read out loud, and it brought me to tears. We’re going to post those here shortly, too.

I’ve been thinking about being the 50-year-old dad of a one-month-old. In the clinical setting, this is called “APA” – Advanced Paternal Age – and is a risk factor for various birth defects. I was thinking that I’ll need to live to be 100 if I am going to be around to celebrate my daughter’s 50th birthday. I wonder if she’ll be running circles around me as I get older and start to slow down. We’ll see. I feel good now, and I think finding the love of my life, Carrie, and having a kid is helping me to stay young and healthy. I bicycle a lot, and do my art, and both of things are good for staving off some of aging’s negative aspects…. but maybe I will just be a great 70-year-old when I am seeing my daughter off to the higher education of her choosing. We’ll see.

Lastly, I did a sketch of Maeve that I really like (I also like the ones that we used on the birth announcement, too.) I am always carrying around my sketchbook, and am not afraid to use it. I’ve been trying to sketch her frequently, but I don’t always get to it. She moves a lot, even when she’s sleeping, so I just get my sketchbook out and “chase her across the page” (that’s what I call it in my head.)

Sketch of Maeve, pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 68, 31 August 2013, about 4"x4"

Sketch of Maeve, pen on paper in Sketchbook No. 68, 31 August 2013, about 4″x4″

Last week, I also posted some of my earliest sketches of Maeve from my Sketchbook No. 67 at my art blog Handmade Ransom Notes.

and one more photo of Maeve this week:

Maeve lying on me yesterday

Maeve lying on me yesterday

For previous week (week 4) go here. For next week (week 6) go here

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Newborn Maeve at Five Weeks: One-Month Check-Up, My Birthday and More”

  1. Sandra Lawrence Says:

    Joe, I love you posts. What a year it has been for you. I think 50 is going to be even better:) Sorry I missed the big day, face book let me down, haha take care, Sandy

    Date: Sun, 1 Sep 2013 21:49:04 +0000 To: rubeeslippers@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

