Baby Maeve at Nine Weeks: Two-Month Check-Up, Photos

by
My sweet wife Carrie and my great 2-month-old daughter Maeve

My sweet wife Carrie and my great 2-month-old daughter Maeve yesterday

I’ve been a bit under the weather this week – nothing serious – but getting The Weekly Maeve out a whole day late. I am working on a longer entry about a lot of things that we’re not doing… but that’s not ready, so I am just going to post the results of Maeve’s latest visit to the pediatrician… and, of course, photos!

I wrote about Maeve’s last pediatrician visit (her one-month check-up) here. It should come as no surprise that she’s still growing up a storm.

Big strong arms on two-month old Maeve

Big strong arms on two-month old Maeve

Here are the measurements from her pediatrician visit on Monday, earlier this week. She’s now 24.7 inches tall; that’s in the 99th percentile. Woooo Hooooo! Her head is 40.8 centimeters in circumference; that’s 98th percentile. She weighed in 13.0 pounds – which is the 85th percentile. Note that, I asked, and these percentiles are gender-specific (not sure at what point females are bigger/smaller than males.) These highly exact data points all indicate that she’s gotten a good start… and that both our families include plenty of big tall people. I am 6’3″ tall, 260 pounds… and I am the shortest of three brothers.

After I was all proud of how well she’s growing, I began to think about weight. At some point, we’re not going to want he to be in the top percentiles for weight… because that would mean she’d be obese. Right now she’s still on a strictly breast-milk diet… and though she has some bulges, it doesn’t seem like she’s overweight in any way… just healthy.

Maeve yesterday. She seems to have more and more going on behind her eyes. Not that she didn't have a lot of brain development going on from day one (probably even more than right now) but it seems like she's more conscious - like I can look in her eyes and kind of read what's going on from her expressions.

Maeve yesterday. She seems to have more and more going on behind her eyes. Not that she didn’t have a lot of brain development going on from day one (probably even more than right now) but it seems like she’s more conscious – like I can look in her eyes and kind of read what’s going on from her expressions.

She's still small enough to fit in my lap... and this makes me smile.

She’s still small enough to fit in my lap… and this makes me smile.

For more parental blogging, see my wife Carrie’s post from a few days ago. For previous week (week 8) go here. For next week (week 10) go here. More Maeve photos on Instagram (username joelinton63) and Maeve sketches at my art blog Handmade Ransom Notes.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

